Purpose 

At this time last year, I felt that the most important thing for me to do with my free time was to spend time with my mom (and I’m so thankful for every moment that I did!). After losing mom, there was a hole in my life, and a hole in my time. 

But, Daniel and I quickly learned that we were expecting a baby. And, so, I felt that my next purpose to focus on was being a mom. After losing our baby, I just became numb. I had believed that this baby was to be a part of healing for our family. After learning of our miscarriage, a dear friend told me that she believed Mom was in heaven, rocking her first grandbaby until the rest of us got there. 

I’m so thankful for the people God has placed in my life to love and support me as I’ve been walking this journey of grief. I know that my life will never be the same. But, I’ve read recently that:

Sometimes our toughest hardship leads to our greatest purpose.

Lysa Terkeurst, Proverbs 31 Ministries

I’m not sure what that looks life for my life just yet. I know it’s a process that I still have to finish walking through, but I’ve asked God for discernment, clarity, and guidance. I know Mom wouldn’t want me sitting on the sidelines of life, and I know that my ultimate purpose is to bring glory to God with my life.

Father,

Please use my story. Use me, my experiences, my words, my time, my LIFE to make a difference for you. Place people and opportunities in my path. Help me to love as you do. Help me to be selfless. Help me to be prayerful. Help me to encourage. Help me to reflect your glory in the tragedy as well as the triumph.

Amen.

‘Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.’ (2 Corinthians 1:3-4)

One thought on “Purpose 

  1. Honey, I am SO sorry!! I hadn’t heard about the miscarriage. Praying you will have peace, knowing your little one is indeed in heaven, being loved on by her grandma!

    Like

Leave a comment